Taaza Taren: Your Ultimate Destination for Live Cricket World Cup Scorecards

Welcome to Taaza Taren, your premier source for live Cricket World Cup scorecards. We are a dedicated publication committed to providing our readers with the most up-to-date and accurate cricket information, ensuring you never miss a moment of the action.

Our comprehensive live scorecards keep you on the edge of your seat, providing real-time updates on every ball, run, and wicket. Stay informed with detailed innings summaries, including individual player statistics, over-by-over commentary, and match highlights.

Whether you’re a seasoned cricket aficionado or just starting to follow the game, Taaza Taren is your one-stop shop for all things Cricket World Cup. Our team of passionate cricket enthusiasts is committed to delivering the most engaging and informative coverage, ensuring you get the most out of this global sporting spectacle.

Embrace the thrill of the Cricket World Cup with Taaza Taren, your trusted guide to the captivating world of cricket.

History of ICC Cricket World Cup

The Cricket World Cup, officially known as ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup or simply the World Cup, is the international championship of One Day International (ODI) cricket. This event is organized by the International Cricket Council (ICC), the sport’s governing body, every four years, with preliminary qualification rounds leading up to a finals tournament. It’s considered one of the world’s most viewed sporting events and is hailed as the “flagship event of the international cricket calendar” by the ICC. In essence, it’s the pinnacle championship of the sport of cricket.

The inaugural World Cup took place in England in June 1975, with the first ODI cricket match played only four years earlier. However, preceding the men’s tournament, a Women’s Cricket World Cup had already been held, and a tournament involving multiple international teams took place as early as 1912, featuring a triangular tournament of Test matches between Australia, England, and South Africa. The initial three World Cups were hosted in England. From the 1987 edition onward, hosting has been shared among various countries, following an unofficial rotation system involving fourteen ICC members.

The current format includes a qualification phase occurring over the preceding three years to determine the teams eligible for the tournament phase. During the tournament phase, ten teams, including the automatically qualifying host nation, compete for the title at venues within the host nation over approximately a month. The 2027 edition is set to feature an expanded 14-team final competition.

A total of twenty teams have participated in the twelve editions of the tournament, with ten teams taking part in the recent 2019 tournament. Australia has been the most successful, having won the tournament five times, followed by India and West Indies with two wins each. Pakistan, Sri Lanka, and England have each secured one title. The most notable performance by a non-full-member team was Kenya’s semi-final appearance in the 2003 tournament.

The current champions are England, who won the 2019 World Cup edition. The 2023 World Cup is ongoing in India, and the subsequent 2027 World Cup will be jointly held in South Africa, Zimbabwe, and Namibia.

History The history of international cricket dates back to the 19th century, with the first international match taking place in 1844 between Canada and the United States. Test cricket, featuring teams like Australia and England, started in 1877 and is a significant part of the sport’s history. South Africa joined the Test-playing nations in 1889. Over the years, representative teams toured each other, leading to bilateral competition.

Cricket was even featured in the 1900 Paris Olympics as an Olympic sport, where Great Britain won the gold medal, although this marked its only appearance in the Summer Olympics.

The first multilateral international competition was the 1912 Triangular Tournament, a Test cricket tournament in England involving England, Australia, and South Africa. However, it wasn’t a great success, and since then, Test cricket has mainly been organized as bilateral series until the triangular Asian Test Championship in 1999.

The number of Test-playing nations gradually increased, with the addition of West Indies in 1928, New Zealand in 1930, India in 1932, and Pakistan in 1952. International cricket continued as bilateral Test matches played over several days.

In the 1960s, one-day cricket, a shortened version of the sport, began in England with domestic competitions. The first One-Day International match took place in 1971 between England and Australia during a rain-aborted Test match. The success of one-day cricket in England and around the world led to the idea of organizing a Cricket World Cup by the ICC.

Prudential World Cups (1975–1983) The inaugural Cricket World Cup was held in 1975 in England, featuring eight teams. The West Indies emerged as the champions, defeating Australia in the final. The first three tournaments were hosted by England and known as the Prudential Cup.

Different champions (1987–1996) India and Pakistan jointly hosted the 1987 tournament, which saw the games reduced from 60 to 50 overs per innings. Australia won this edition by defeating England in the final.

The 1992 World Cup, hosted in Australia and New Zealand, introduced several changes to the game, such as colored clothing, white balls, and day/night matches. Pakistan won the tournament after a slow start, defeating England in the final.

The 1996 championship was held in the Indian subcontinent for a second time, with Sri Lanka winning the tournament after crowd unrest forced India to forfeit the semi-final.

Australian treble (1999–2007) In 1999, England hosted the event, which featured twelve teams. Australia won the tournament, defeating Pakistan in the final. This edition included the infamous tie between South Africa and Australia in the semi-final.

South Africa, Zimbabwe, and Kenya hosted the 2003 World Cup, where the number of teams increased to fourteen. Australia triumphed again, defeating India in the final.

In 2007, the tournament was hosted by the West Indies and expanded to sixteen teams. Australia defeated Sri Lanka in the final.

Hosts triumph (2011–2019) India, Sri Lanka, and Bangladesh jointly hosted the 2011 World Cup, with India winning the tournament by defeating Sri Lanka in the final.

Australia and New Zealand jointly hosted the 2015 World Cup, where Australia won their fifth title by defeating New Zealand in the final.

The 2019 World Cup was hosted by England and Wales, featuring ten teams. England won the tournament by a boundary count in the super over against New Zealand in the final.

This summarizes the history of the Cricket World Cup and its growth in international cricket.