WhatsApp launches new feature ‘view once’ for photos and videos

Date:

While taking photos or videos on our phones has become such a big part of our lives, not everything we share needs to become a permanent digital record. On many phones, simply taking a photo means it will take up space in your camera roll forever.
That’s why today we’re rolling out new View Once photos and videos that disappear from the chat after they’ve been opened, giving users, even more, control over their privacy.

For example, you might send a View Once a photo of some new clothes you’re trying on at a store, a quick reaction to a moment in time, or something sensitive like a Wi-Fi password.

As with all the personal messages you send on WhatsApp, View Once media is protected by end-to-end encryption so WhatsApp cannot see them. They will also be clearly marked with a new “one-time” icon.

After the media has been viewed, the message will appear as “opened” to avoid any confusion about what was happening in the chat at the time.
We’re rolling out the feature to everyone starting this week and are looking forward to feedback on this new way to send private and disappearing media.


You can read more about how to try it out here.
Get breaking news on WhatsApp
Follow the TaazaTaren channel for the latest updates.
Follow on WhatsApp
Yasir Noor Bukhari
Yasir Noor Bukharihttps://taazataren.com/
Syed Muhammad Yasir Noor is a digital media strategist and writer, covering technology, telecom, and business news for TaazaTaren.

More like this
Related

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Share post:

Get breaking news on WhatsApp
Follow the TaazaTaren channel for the latest updates, gold and petrol prices.
Follow on WhatsApp

Latest News

Don't Miss